Game of Thrones Book Tag

Game of Thrones Book Tag

Now that GoT is blazing through its seventh season and hype levels are higher than ever, I jumped on the chance to do this as soon as I saw it over at Aria the Blue Fairy‘s blog. Here goes:

HOUSE LANNISTER: HEAR ME ROAR – Name a book that you originally loved, but upon a re-read realized that it wasn’t so great after all.

This has to be A Court of Wings and Ruin, the third book in Sarah J. Maas’s A Court of Thorns and Roses series. (It applies to a lesser extent to the second book ACOMAF too.) The first time I read ACOWAR, I was too floored by the sheer epic scale of the story to notice its many flaws, which started to emerge after the initial awe and gratification after waiting a whole year for the book subsided.

HOUSE STARK: WINTER IS COMING – Name your most anticipated book release for 2017.

From the few months left this year, it’s going to be The Empress, S.J. Kincaid’s sequel to 2016’s The Diabolic. I loved that one for characters, plot, basically everything, and have pretty high expectations for the second book.

HOUSE TARGARYEN: FIRE AND BLOOD – Name a book that you felt completely slayed with fantastic characters, plot, pacing, etc.

Is naming ASOIAF cheating? Kind of feels like it is, so I’ll have to go with Conclave by Robert Harris. But if I can choose ASOIAF, my GOAT series, it’s always gonna come back to that. Now if GRRM could actually finish The Winds of Winter…

HOUSE BARATHEON: OURS IS THE FURY – Name a book that ended with a cliffhanger ending that genuinely pissed you off.

This is a tough one. For the longest time I had the habit of flipping to the end of a book and spoiling the whole thing for myself before deciding whether to actually read it, so I avoided all books with unsatisfactory conclusions that way. Lately I’ve forced myself to stop doing that, so I’ll say The Last Magician. I was kind of let down by the ending, if I’m honest. It could have wrapped up a lot more loose ends than it did.

HOUSE MARTELL: UNBOWED. UNBENT. UNBROKEN. –Name a book, or book series, that’s been on your TBR since the dawn of time.

The Lord of the Rings, probably. I just don’t feel a pressing need to read it anytime soon, but I keep having the nagging feeling that I should just get through them at some point. Because they’re hallmarks of the fantasy genre, and everyone’s at least watched the movies, which I haven’t even done.

HOUSE BOLTON: OUR BLADES ARE SHARP – Name the most graphic or disturbing book that you’ve ever read.

Well, this is another tough one considering I’ve come across fanfic more disturbing than the worst published novels, so I’ll just put a mention for Mark Lawrence’s Prince of Thorns. I didn’t actually read it through, just the first chapters, but what I saw seemed psycho enough to give it a shout-out.

HOUSE TYRELL: GROWING STRONG – Name a book, or book series, that gets better and better with every re-read.

ASOIAF is still cheating, right?? Okay then, gonna answer with The Martian as one of many possible picks. Cause it’s a fun, witty, fast-paced story that I can get into at any time, and the funniest book I’ve read in years. I wouldn’t say it necessarily gets better upon rereading, but it doesn’t lose the charm of the first read through, which is pretty good if you ask me.

One thought on “Game of Thrones Book Tag

  1. Thanks for the linkback hun. 🙂
    I dont think choosing ASOIF is cheating. Lol. I’ve only read the first book in that series and will kill me to read them one after the other. I have a bad adhd with long books. But it is a great book! Its right up there with my Brandon Sanderson books. I havent read anything by Mark Lawrence yet but I might… soon. 😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

